Mets sign D.J. Mitchell to minor league deal

Posted: April 22, 2013 in News
Tags:

By Steven InmanimagesCAU5LIB3

The Mets have signed right-hander D.J. Mitchell, tweets ESPN’s Adam Rubin. Mitchell was designated for assignment by the Seattle Mariners earlier in the month and elected to become a free agent after clearing waivers. The 25-year-old has a 3.72 ERA in 317 1/3 Triple-A innings and was one of the pitchers Seattle received from the New York Yankees in last year’s trade for Ichiro Suzuki.

Mitchell will go to Triple A Las Vegas and will be used as bullpen depth.  With the way the Mets bullpen has performed early on this season (dead last in ERA) he could get a call up to the Mets at some point this season.

Comments
  1. Michael Young says:

    Steve,

    I agree that this is a smart move by the Mets. This pitcher has good numbers and the Mets are seemingly ever in need of BP arms. So, you are most probably right in saying we will see him real soon at Citi Field and on the road with the Mets.

    By the way, I haven’t quite figured out how to check out your responses to my comments on your new Broke Mets blog site format. Tho previous site was, at least for me, more user friendly.

    Also, in sharing this I don’t know how I will manage to read your comment, if any, on my evaluation post as stated here here unless I can figure out how to open up your responses as easily as I was able to on your previous format.

    Thanks, Mike

    • Steven Inman says:

      Mike I’m sorry if you haven’t been able to read my comments on the new format. Iv’e responded to every one of them. The old format is no longer available on my domain so I had to switch it. I’m still working out the kinks so let me know if this continues I didn’t see how it was different so thanks for bringing this to my attention. Hope everyone who leaves comments can read this.

      As for Mitchell this is a low risk, low reward type of move, nothing significant. If the bullpen doesn’t approve we could see a lot of guys like Mitchell at CitiField. Thanks for the feedback Mike!

      • Michael Young says:

        Thanks Steve – After posting my most recent comment, I was prompted by an offer to subscibe, I subscribed so now i will apparently receive your responses via email messaging like I did this one. In fact, now hat I think about it, I remember subscibing the first time I responded to one of your posts. So, if any of your other respondants are having difficulty in accessing your replys then subscribing or resubscribing could be a solution to their problem as well.

        Oh and I had no doubt that you were responding, I just couldn’t access your responses. With the emailed responses that problem is resolved.

        Another item that may interest you is how I discovered Broke Mets in the first place. I regularly check out Mets fans’ posted exchanges on the MLB Mets page, especially after each game. Too date, I have posted over 650 posts there that started probably sometime during the 2010 season. One day, I Mets fan recommended those of us that read those posts to check out Broke Mets. I did and have enyoyed your reports ever since. Thanks again, Mike

      • Steven Inman says:

        Thats great Mike, hopefully more great fans like you will get word of it. The goal is to make this a site where we can have mass conversations on everything new york mets throughout the year. Tell anybody you can! appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

